Our research guides are now easier to use, with more resources and multimedia content.
Milne librarians have been working over the intersession to implement a new system for connecting users to important resources: LibGuides. The new system allows for easy creation of subject and class-related guides. It also allows librarians to incorporate a wider array of content than our previous system, including images, video and RSS feeds to provide subject-specific news and research headlines.
LibGuides pages replace the Resources by Subject pages previously used to help identify scholarly materials.
Users can browse the guides by subject or guide title, or search the guides for specific resources.
On some pages, users can provide feedback or suggest possible links for inclusion into guides.
Importantly, the system allows the librarians check links and to track which guides and links are being used. This helps us keep the guides up to date with content that users actually need.
Access to ScienceDirect and Scopus databases will be unavailable on Saturday, Jan. 23rd.
Due to scheduled maintenance, library users will not have access to our the ScienceDirect and Scopus databases from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Saturday, January 23rd. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Alternative databases for each subject can be found in the library's new Subject Guides.
Our New Beta Catalog Launches with Improved Features
The main search box on the library homepage has been updated to make use of a new Beta Catalog developed by libraries in the IDS project.
This search engine allows users to search for books and media here in Milne, in IDS Project libraries (these items can be delivered in less than 3 days) or in libraries around the world (these books may take 7 to 10 business days to arrive).
New and improved features include:
Spell checking for misspelled search terms
Estimated time of arrival for items not held in Milne Library
RSS feeds for searches
The ability to export items to citation software (like EndNote or Zotero)
A quick link to create citations for each record.
Our new Catalog is still in a Beta testing phase, so please provide us with any feedback about your searches.
WorldCat Local - your better alternative to Google
The Quicksearch box on the library home page now uses WorldCat Local. This search tool quickly finds books, articles, and materials held in Milne Library and in other libraries across the country.
Unlike Google which searches billions of web sites of unknown authority, WorldCat Local (containing 55 million articles) provides items from reputable databases that the library subscribes to. Search results can be narrowed to specific databases and refined by author, format, year, language, and content. Items not available in Milne or online are easily obtainable using Get Text/IDS service.
Access to paid databases will be unavailable on Thursday, August 20th
Due to an upgrade of our authentication system, off-campus users will not have access to our subscription databases during the day on Thursday, August 20th.
On campus users will still be able to access databases if the "EZProxy" portion of the database URL is removed. Popular resources can be reached via these links:
Easier Access to Chemical Information: SciFinder is now on the web
SUNY Geneseo students, faculty and staff can now access chemical information via SciFinder on the web.
In order to use the new version of SciFinder, users must first register. Once registered, users can easily access SciFinder via any web browser.
This new web version of SciFinder has the same robust search features, including the ability to find chemical substance information, search for chemical literature, and search for chemical structures.
New features include the ability to save searches and get email alerts when new items matching a search are added to the database.
The client (stand alone) version of SciFinder will still be accessible through early October, at which time our access will be cut off.
Please contact Bonnie Swoger (585-245-5593) if you have any questions about accessing or using the web version of SciFinder.
One of the most time consuming tasks that needs to be completed after writing and before turning in a paper is the formatting of the Works Cited section. Zotero is here to help. Using this add-on, you can save and sort the references for your paper, insert an appropriate citation, and format your bibliography in any of thousands of bibliographic styles (everything from the typical APA and MLA styles to styles from specific journals).
Students can appreciate the amount of time this will save while their professors will like seeing a correctly formatted bibliography.
The LibX toolbar for Firefox and Internet Explorer.
This extension can help you find resources more quickly.
First, it allows you to search the Milne Library catalog, GLOCAT, right from the toolbar.
Second, no matter what webpage you are looking at, the tool bar will insert a link for any resources it finds, connecting you to the materials available through Milne Library. For example, when searching Amazon.com, the LibX toolbar will allow you to easily check to see if Milne Library owns a copy of the book you want. Or if you find a journal article cited on a webpage, you can easily get access to the full-text article.
Presentation about the citation database Scopus on Wednesday, 2/4
On Wednesday, February 4th at 1:30pm in Room 104, representatives will be here from Elsevier publishers to discuss their citation database Scopus.
Students are welcome to join us to learn about how Scopus can help you find scholarly research in the life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.
Scopus can also help you expand your research by identifying which other papers cited a source you already found.
Questions about if Scopus may be useful for you? Try a sample search in the box on the right, watch a quick demo about Scopus, or ask a reference librarian via phone (x5595), email, or in person (at the reference desk in Milne).
Stop by and learn about our powerful new resource: Scopus
On Monday, April 14, representatives from Elsevier Publishers will be in the Milne Library Lobby from 10:00am to 12:00pm demonstrating the citation database Scopus, a recent addition to Milne Library's research resources. Scopus covers a wide variety of articles related to the physical sciences, biomedical sciences, and social sciences.
In addition to keyword searching, this database allows users to track down the citation history of a known publication.
For example, if you found a really great article for the term paper you have due next week, you can use Scopus to locate other articles that cited your really great article.
Scopus also provides the ability to easily narrow your search by subject area, publication year, and keyword.
Stop by the library on Monday morning (April 14) to learn more about this powerful new resource.
This week is the tenth annual "Earth Science Week." The goal of Earth Science Week is to increase public awareness of earth science in education and society. This year's theme is "The Pulse of Earth Science."
To celebrate, have a look at some great Earth Science resources available from Milne Library and on the Web:
Taking advantage of our access to a new interface for Chemical Abstracts, 157 chemistry students were introduced to SciFinder Scholar during the week of March 26.
Students in CHEM 214, Qualitative Organic Analysis, were able to use the interface to research information for an upcoming lab assignment, and learned how to search for journal articles related to specific chemicals.
SciFinder Scholar uses a unique software interface to access information from Chemical Abstracts and several other databases. Researchers can access information based on chemical name, molecular formula, role in a chemical reaction or by natural language searching.
Did you know that Milne Library has a collection of popular and hard to find dvds and videos? Want to see Crash or read a positive or negative review of it? How about Brokeback Mountain, Rent, or Frieda? Milne Library also subscribes to a number of journals about Film Studies including Film Comment, Film and History and Film Literature Index Online.
To Browse feature films in our collection by go to GLOCAT, do a Subject Keywords search and type in feature films. To browse foreign films, follow the above actions but search for foreign films as Subject Keywords. You can also browse the PN1997 section upstairs to find new and classic films.
The New Books List lists titles of new or soon-to-be-aquired films.
Father, Son and Holy War (vhs) is on the new books display and is by Anand Patwardhan. In his film, Patwardhan explores the relationship between notions of masculinity and violence. If you've seen it, or any of the films in our collection and have something to say about them, just click the comments link below and let us know what you think.
Milne Library's Instructors have been involved in the GOLD (Geneseo Opportunities for Leadership Development) program for a few semesters now. Through the Ruby Certificate, we offer workshops in Information Literacy, which include topics such as database searching, locating subject-specific resources, evaluation of research materials, plagiarism, internet security, and new technologies.
The first workshop in a series of required classes for completion of the Ruby Certificate is The ABCs of Database Searching. In this introductory workshop, students will learn the basic mechanics of a database, which could include web engines like Google, the databases subscribed to by the Library, or a free database on the web. Students will discover helpful tips and strategies that are used in any kind of database to help improve their searches, find better resources, and save time.
The first of two ABCs workshops will be offered on Thursday, February 8, during the all-college hour (12:45-1:45 pm). Participants will meet in Room 104 of Milne Library.
One of the most time consuming tasks that needs to be completed after writing and before turning in a paper is the formatting of the Works Cited section. 
